What Kind of Character Are You?

What kind of Character Are You?

So, it’s coming time to start a new campaign for our group of Gamers. We’re finishing up a short segment of a Mutants and Masterminds Campaign that was Pirates of the Caribbean themed and were trying to figure out precisely what everyone was in the mood for.

Considering my wife is pregnant, our two friends are getting their respective degrees, and I am considering going back to school, there aren’t a lot of options for roleplaying. There was some quick talk of working on a campaign – of all of us, I probably have the most time – but I didn’t want to commit to something I wouldn’t be able to give my full focus to.

Then my wife suggested we run a pre-generated campaign called “Scales of War.” Scales of War is part of the Dungeons and Dragons 4E Subscription service, though you can apparently read about it in several places including here . Because the campaign is pregenerated, we don’t have to spend a lot of time planning. We just have to mark off where we leave off in the adventure and pick up there the next week. 4th Edition is simple enough that it won’t take a lot of time to think about to play and, as far as Wizards’ pre-generated adventures go, this one should be pretty good.

Which leaves me with an interesting task: Create a Character.

I love to make characters. Considering this blog is designed around my characters and their creation – as well as their thoughts and how I feel about them, I thought I would talk a little about what I am thinking.

If you hadn’t noticed, Jakkin and Alista are fairly similar. They both are servants of the Gods, they are both defensively oriented, and they both have few living family members (well, until the end, where Jakkin got married.) My Pirate character was supposed to be different. She was based on a Waterbender – think Avatar the Last Airbender – and that part of things worked out great.

Unfortunately, she ended up with the same feeling of Responsibility that Jakkin and Alista suffered from. Unlike those two, she actually let her frustrations out – going as far as to throw another player in to a wall. But she still had that feeling of responsibility.

And, ultimately, I know why that is. I’ve always felt a great deal of responsibility. I helped my Mom take care of my brothers when I was younger and I took care of people when I was in College. Sherman Lake focuses on Responsibility as one of their core principles – hence why I do so well there. I’ve always been big on taking personal responsibility for actions .

Which leads me to the question of: What kind of Character are you?

I’m a Paladin. Ask any of my friends and they’ll tell you the same. My purpose is to take care of others, defend them, and seek justice. I believe, ultimately, in the good of people and the good of the world and want to seek ways to allow that to flourish. I want a part of that, and, to gain that part, I do my part. I am responsible for my own actions and for showing others that there is good in this world and that they, too, can have a part of that good.

Unfortunately, that can make it hard to play different types of characters and can leave my writing stagnant. For this adventure, I want to make a different kind of character. Someone with a little different point of view – someone, perhaps, not so trusting and not so enamored with the good of people.

This time, I want to play someone a little different from my other paladin characters.

Bannana shaped head? Check. Image Copywrite Warner Bros.
One of These Guys Ends up Being Evil. Guess Who?

OK, not quite as different as Ruber there, but something a little off kilter and not necessarily noble.

A lot of what kind of character I end up playing will come from the appearance of the character and what they are involved in. I’m going to make a failure character, I think, in this case. Someone who had great dreams and discovered, to their disappointment, that the dream they had was not in the cards for them.

In the world of Dungeons and Dragons, this is a lot harder to come by than one might imagine. But that’s what I am looking at.

Keep an eye out here for the first entry in my characters ‘Journal’ coming soon!

In the mean time, what kind of character are you?

One thought on “What Kind of Character Are You?

  1. From my point-of-view the ideal type of character, whether they are the paladin type you talked about or the more rogueish sortm the point is to create a conflict in the group that forces decisions and compromises to be made. Nothing is more boring for a DM or player than the group that either blindly follows the only person who can manage to speak up or make a decision or the people that try and always do the right thing and make sure they follow the breadcrumbs just like they are supposed to. The interesting places come in during the character conflicts about the decisions that end up having to be made during a campaign. The point isn’t to bog down or slow down the game, but to create opportunities to open up the world and to expand on character’s traits and back stories. The greatest thing to me of most fantasy stories is not necessarily the conflict, but the conflict resolution. That a group can feel out each other (or their characters in this case) and learn to work together and create a long bonding friendship that is the natural result of campaigns like this. For an idea of what I am talking about the best examples I can think of is the character group progression through the Dragonlance books or the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

The Ears are Open - Say Somethin'!

