Book Review – The Third Kingdom (and some on Terry Goodkind)

So, I’m getting back on the horse.

The summer is over and I can finally sit down and write again! YAY! I’ll be watching for more challenges and really working on my book over at Scrib. I’m going to get this sucker done.

But that’s not what we’re here for. We’re here for a Book Review. I normally don’t do ‘full on’ New York Times style authors, but I wanted to do something on The Third Kingdom because I really liked the Sword of Truth books. I like them enough that my mother got me a signed copy of ‘Faith of the Fallen’ (my favorite in the series). There was a LOT of fun and adventure in the series. I may even have named my daughter after Kahlan.

Terry Goodkind finished the Sword of Truth series with Confessor. I really did enjoy the series and had fun reading it. There were some slow parts, but I made it through the Wheel of Time, so that’s not really a major issue.

However, after reading The Third Kingdom, it is clear that Goodkind is tired of writing Richard and Kahlan.

The series has always had a certain amount of violence and direct confrontation about the action and reaction of suffering, pain, and emotional trauma. I expect that in a Sword of Truth novel. But now? As I read what happens, it feels like Goodkind just isn’t happy with being stuck in this world anymore. Given his devotion to the ideas of freedom and choice, I can’t help but think that he is beginning to resent writing more and more about these two characters.

I’m not saying the novel isn’t good. It’s as well written as any of the other other Goodkind novels I have read (and much better than Pillars of Creation in my opinion). The villain is interesting, the introduced characters have talents and quirks that add some depth to the world of the Sword of Truth. I liked the plot – Spoiler alert: Not quite Zombies are present – and the action, like all of Goodkind’s books, comes at an excellent pace. The fighting is vividly described and fun to read as it whirls around.

But Goodkind comes accross as tired and resentful. Maybe I am reading too much in to it, but it feels that way every time he is forced to address Richard and Kahlan. Since Richard is the main protagonist, this happens fairly often. I like the series, but I don’t like the tone of this novel. I’ve got a copy of Severed Souls here to check out, but I’m going to go through some other works first to clear my head and see if I’m reading to much in to The Third Kingdom. I guess we’ll see.

Writing: 5/5
Characterization: 4/5
Plot: 5/5
Flow: 3.5/5
Value: 5/5
Total rating: 4.5 / 5

The Ears are Open - Say Somethin'!

